Posted by: al66888 | July 4, 2007

The Meaning of the 4th of July- Independence Day

On the radio the other day, I heard an old reading of Red Skeleton explaining the Pledge of Allegiance.  I thought it was so tremendous, that I had to go to youtube to find it and post it here for all to hear.  Below that, I have included some links for people to explore and a copy of a letter written by John Adams on July 2nd, 1776.  I hope these will serve to remind ourselves why we celebrate this holiday.   May you and your families have a safe and happy holiday weekend…..and may God bless America.

On July 2nd, John Adams, our eventual 2nd President, wrote one of the greatest letters in American History:

The second day of July, 1776, will be the most memorable epocha in the history of America. I am apt to believe it will be celebrated by succeeding generations as the great anniversary festival. It ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance, by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with pomp and parade, with shows, games, sports, guns, bells, bonfires, and illuminations, from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward forevermore.

You will think me transported with enthusiasm, but I am not. I am well aware of the toil and blood and treasure that it will cost us to maintain this Declaration and support and defend these states. Yet, through all the gloom, I can see the rays of ravishing light and glory. I can see that the end is more than worth all the means. And that posterity will triumph in that day’s transaction, even although we should rue it, which I trust in God we shall not…

It may be the will of Heaven that America will suffer calamities still more wasting, and distress yet more dreadful. If this is to be the case, it will have this good effect at least. It will inspire us with many virtues which we have not, and correct many errors, follies and vices which threaten to disturb, dishonor and destroy us. The furnace of affliction produces refinement, in States as well as individuals…But I must submit all my hopes and fears to an overruling Providence, in which, unfashionable as the faith may be, I firmly believe.

Glenn Beck read a great essay on his program, that told about the sacrafice of our Founding Fathers. I was able to find a copy of the transcript, and I copied it here.

If you would like to read more about the Revolutionary War-  the struggle, the doubt, the courage, and the eventual victory- I highly recommend 1776 by David McCullough and here’s a link to it on Amazon.

Take some time today to read over the full Declaration. To view the complete Declaration of Independence, visit the National Archives here

Leave a Reply

Categories

