Posted by: al66888 | June 27, 2007

Turn in your party card! (This won’t be popular with either side)

The immigration bill is probably one of the most frustrating pieces of legislation in recent memory.   The crazy thing about this bill, is the staunch opposition by the American people.   Most polls show that 80% of Americans are against this bill, yet the Senate continues to try and breathe life into it.  It doesn’t make much sense.  But then again, that sentence right there could sum up the state of our current government- ‘it doesn’t make much sense’. 

donkeyelephant.jpg

I like to go on other blogs and leave comments, both those I agree with and disagree with, because who doesn’t like a good back and forth now and then?  What I don’t find surprising, is that most people lump me in as being a Republican, and start to make attacks on Bush and the GOP.   Though I have voted Republican before, I have also voted Democratic, and I’m not really in favor of W or the current batch of GOP Congressman.  I’m not really in favor of anyone right now.

Now, that doesn’t surprise me, and even wrote that in my About page, because most people believe that Conservative = Republican.  I like to call myself the Common Sense Conservative, I tend to be Conservative on taxes, spending, religious freedoms, freedom of speech, etc- however, I have slightly more liberal views when it comes to certain social issues and I realize the thought process and respect the other side of the argument on many things that tend to divide the country. 

What I do find shocking, is how many people thump their support for either party.  In a recent back and forth, one blogger was tauting how the Dems would take the Presidency and even more seats in Congress.   You could sense the conviction in the rhetoric.  And my simple response is……Why?

Why be a Republican when

  • They are tied to big business
  • They are supporting a horrible immigration bill
  • They spent out of control in Congress after railing on the Democratic controlled Congress before them for their spending habits
  • They are fighting a war in Iraq with politics and not the military

And Why be a Democrat?

  • Who, in the all important first 100 days of Congress, accomplished nothing
  • Who are trying to revive the Fairness Doctrine, which is a violation of free speech as protected by the Constitution
  • Who has wasted countless time and tax dollars fighting over Iraq bills while adding millions in pork to pass a bill they knew would be vetoed
  • Their presidential candidates are running on platforms of raising taxes and making the government even bigger

Now, I know, somebody is going to argue with me on my bullet points, but that’s not the issue, there are literally 1000s of points to argue.

Tell me, what’s appealing about either of these two parties?  Sure, they both have some good people, and some good ideas, but collectively they’re both after the same thing…Control!  You didn’t think I was going to say your personal interest and safety, did you?  These parties know that if you are tied to them, you’re going to vote for them no matter what.  I’m not saying Don’t vote Republican or Don’t vote Democratic, what I’m saying is Don’t be beholden to that party no matter what. 

The President’s approval rating is lower than Nixon (who faced impeachment) and Carter (who almost oversaw the 2nd Great Depression)- how does that happen?  Here’s something scarier- Congress is lower that him, almost by 10 full points!  You know how it happens?   You stop listening to the people and you let special interests guide your policies.

Call your national Democratic or Republican party, and let them know that you will no longer go along blindly with a party that does not follow the people.  Become an independent, study the candidates, and pick the best one.

Responses

  1. My take is that both the dems and repubs ARE the failure of our government. It is for me “the two party system” that causes all our governments failures. I go one step further and say VOTE FOR ANYONE NOT A DEM OR REPUB IN 2008!

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  2. You are dead on. Both parties are screwed up. Democrats have misread their mandate from the American people while Republicans continue to protect the crooks that got them trouble in the first place. Unfortunately, if you want to participate in American politics, then you have to pick a side.

  3. I picked a side in 1995. I’ve been voting third parties ever since. The two sides are:

    the dempublicans/republicrats vs. everyone else 😉

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  4. Well, have any of your third party candidates won much less been slightly competitive? Probably not I’m guessing. I personally want my vote to actually to count. That’s why I tend to vote for the lesser of evils. In the primaries, I vote for the candidate that has the most backbone.

  5. Only once did vote for a presidential candidate that won. He was the lesser of two evils that year. I spent 4 long years wondering how I could have been so stupid as to vote for that jerk! Since then I’ve learned my lesson. I would rather vote for someone I really want to be president, or anything else, who loses, then vote for a winner who disappoints.

    The scientifically impossible I do right away
    The spiritually miraculous takes a bit longer

  6. I tend to think more along the lines of dgabus. I would love for there to be a strong Indie candidate that the people could get behind, but I feel with what’s been out there, I’m wasting my vote. It’s almost like, why even bother voting (which is the wrong way to feel). I feel like if I vote for this guy who has no chance, then my voice is definitely not being heard, so I might as well pick one of the two that I think will agree with my points the most. We need another strong leader- and as I watch some of these early primary debates, I don’t know if I see one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

