Posted by: al66888 | June 21, 2007

More Madness in the News

Man Saves Women’s Life, then gets fired

I swear, I couldn’t make this stuff up.  I would like to think I’m creative, but this story goes beyond insane.  Apparently, Colin Bruley – 24, grabbed a shotgun a ran to a neighbors aide after he heard her screaming that she was shot. 

Tonnetta Lee survived Tuesday’s pre-dawn shooting at her Jacksonville apartment, and her sister and a neighbor praised Bruley’s actions. But his employers, the same people who own the Arlington complex where Bruley lives, reacted differently. They fired him.

Why, would he be fired, after being hailed as a hero? Well, he works for the apartment complex, and by going in to save a neighbor, he brandished a gun on work property.

“I was expecting work to give me some kind of commendation,” said Bruley, 24. “I was totally blown back. It was a crisis that most people don’t go through.”

“If I’d lose my job again for helping some girl’s life … I’d do it over and over,” Bruley said.

Like I said, I can’t make this stuff up.

And, as we continue down the path of ‘no personal responsibility’, here’s another article to file under ‘it’s not my fault, it’s a disease’. Apparently, the AMA (American Medical Association) is going to vote on whether or not internet/video game addiction is a disease.

C’mon, I spend a lot of time on the internet- it’s the industry I work in, plus the home of this blog, but an addiction. What the AMA is saying is you could basically be addicted to anything and instead of good parenting and personal responsibility, it’s a disease. Which, comes along with it, the ability to receive government assistance to combat your ‘disease’.

I wish I would have known about this as a kid, I would have been able to get paid for my ‘whiffle ball’ addiction.

Responses

  1. well, at least they got the gaming addiction correct

    http://uk.reuters.com/article/technologyNews/idUKN2425415820070624?feedType=RSS&rpc=452&sp=true


Leave a Reply

Categories

