Posted by: al66888 | June 8, 2007

The Global Warming news of the day

First, from the G8, the group of 8 pledged to lower global emissions by 50% by 2050.  Which to me seems kind of pointless.  I’m going to bet that by 2050 we’ll know a lot more about the science of what is going on, and this pledge will have meant nothing by then.  I’m sure this pledge doesn’t exactly excite anyone on either side of the argument.  Global Warming activists say it’s not enough, and those on the other side say it’s pretty irrelevant.  

You can read the story here

And since our world is burning as we speak, let’s all not forget our friends in Cheyenne, WY. The poor people had 8 inches of snow dumped on them. Now I know they’re up in the mountains, but it’s June 8th!

You can read that story here

Responses

  1. “And since our world is burning as we speak, let’s all not forget our friends in Cheyenne, WY. The poor people had 8 inches of snow dumped on them. Now I know they’re up in the mountains, but it’s June 8th!”

    So if it snows in WY in June, that means the planet is not warming. By that logic, I could say that GM shares are dropping, so the Dow Jones Industrial Average must not be rising either. Logic may not be as sexy as sound bytes, but it’s still more important.

  2. so by your logic, since we are suffering through global warming, then our world is burning as we speak.

    interesting.

    if you want logic, show me some facts or give me some solutions- I’m still waiting for either of them.

    All I’ve got so far is that the Earth’s temp has rose .5 degrees. That’s about it. However you can look at several periods of time and see the temp move up and down.

    I am arguing 2 things about global warming, and neither one is that the temp has risen recently. Anyone can look at the average temps and see that. I argue the fact that the government is saying it is manmade, and I argue the solutions bc most of them are nothing more than taxes and ‘for show’ policies. Just to point out:

    1. The evidence is now suggesting we are in one of the coldest years of all time, yet I have not heard any cooling talk
    2. There is also evidence of ‘global warming’ on Mars, which is uninhabited by humans last time I checked.
    3. And if you have taken a look at other posts, I have pointed out (including the first part of this article) the pathetic attempts of what are know as solutions.


Leave a Reply

Categories

